World Cup Finals sadly begins in Mumbai with a Controversial Toss…..

These are my personal but strongly passionate views on the Toss…sadly the World Cup began with a controversial Toss

Judge for yourselves…listen attentively to hear Sri Lankan Captain Sangakkara call ‘Tails’ and the Match Referee Jeff Crowe stating it was ‘Heads’ and indicating to Dhoni that he had won the Toss 

Indian Captain Dhoni thought he had won the toss as Sri Lankan Captain,Sangakkara called ‘Tails’ incorrectly and Referee Jeff Crowe confirmed it was ‘Heads’ and even indicated to Dhoni that he had won….Dhoni shook hands with his Sri Lankan counterpart Sangakkara and and indicated that his decison to bat or bowl first…surely he would would have elected to bat !…he was beginning to move towards Ravi Shastri to talk about team composition…and was zapped that Sangakkara said he had called ‘Heads’ correctly….methinks one of these captains was simply not honourable and it was not the Indian Captain….the Referee Jeff Crowe asked for the toss to be done again and Sangakkara won this and promptly elected to bat….Dhoni simply moved away from him…I sensed disgust here and rightly so… studio commentator Ian Chappell rightly commented that honourable men would have sorted it out among themselves….surely Sangakkara must have called ‘Tails’ and it must have been heard by both,Dhoni and the Referee Jeff Crowe as the coin was tossed…as Jeff looked down at the coin and called it ‘Heads’ and indicated to Dhoni that he had won !……Methinks Sangakarra opted for this ruse and ploy and tactic to ensure that there was a second toss !…sad…shows a clear flaw in Sangakkara’s character !…in fact Saurav Ganguly on field at Wankhede revealed immediately post toss to the Commentators that Dhoni had told Shastri that he had won the toss !…this was relayed live on TV  

India will now chase…Sreesanth is playing for injured Nehra…Sri Lanka has made four changes…Mendis,Silva,Herath and injured Mathews are out

Added at near 4pm with Sri Lanka at 60 for 1 after 16 overs

I am not alone in sensing the above view…just now TV Commentator Sunil Gavaskar just commented that Dhoni was not amused at the re-toss,as he had clearly won it the first time around… and  he simply perfunctorily shook hands with Sangakkara when the Sri Lankan Captain won the retoss and briskly moved away read more